The Long Quiet Here…

by

has nothing to do with intent and everything to do with the way-too-much-to-do-in-such-a-short-time aspect of Alaskan summers.

We’re working on catch up posts.

See you soon!

Bristol Bay

3 Responses to “The Long Quiet Here…”

  1. fromthediagonal Says:

    The pea blossoms are beautiful and the mint(?) looks healthy as well. The wormies’ soil augmentation seems to be doing a good job, as do the long days.
    I wish you the best of luck with the harvest!

  2. alaskapi Says:

    Thank you fromthediagonal ! Going to need all the luck and science and anything else I can scrounge up this year . We have had 2 months of record setting rainfall and low temps, through May and June, and July is only a smidge better so far.
    With such a short season there is no do-over, no 2nd chance, but by utilizing row covers and so on I have a much better harvest on the horizon than I would have with the traditional ways we plant here.
    Thank you UgaVic for challenging me to try a different way to do things- grumble, mumble, and gripe though I did, it sure has made a difference!
    Peas, which normally flourish along a fence in the open, had spotty, poor germination and look like mini or bonsaied versions of their normal selves in the cold and ultra wet. The ones you see started and stayed under cover and are indeed beautiful, healthy, and beginning to produce!
    The “mint” is potato ( I had to go out and look at the mints I have- there IS a resemblance up close! ). Potatoes are doing well in their wire cages- do a spud dance that they produce as well below ground as above, please!

  3. fromthediagonal Says:

    Pototatoes!?! Damn, was I wrong, and I should know how potato plants look like. As kids we had “potato vacation” which were no holidays, but were spent collecting potato bugs. They looked like jellowish ladybugs, but they weren’t nice ones, as they devoured the leaves, which then diminished the plants’ capabilities to keep the potatoes fed and thus diminishing the harvest. We had to turn over our containers at the end of each day to prove we had not played around with that job.

    And oh yes, we also were off from school in fall for harvest vacation. Again, no play time. After the farmers had harvested the plants, we kids were assigned one row at a time, given a sack and on hands and knees rolled over the soil to collect the potatoes the harvester had left behind. There was quite the urgency to this task, as we had to collect at least a hundred-weight to see my mom and me through the winter. It might have taken me the whole week to do so, but it surely kept us from going all-too-hungry. And of course, as always with kids, the competition was fierce at to who collected the most!

    Anyway, old stories, but you always trip my memories, and while I am thinking of those days, I am even more grateful for the easy ways of my life now.

    All the best to you and may you get at least some dry and warm days. Glad you have found some ways to keep the weather gods at bay.

Comments are closed.


