Adopt-A-Family Food Drive and Alternatives to help Nunam Iqua

by

Nov 28, 2009

Greetings from Ugashik!

The adopt-a-family food drive for Nunam Iqua seems to be well underway!

12 families have been adopted.

I have been been receiving emails from people saying they are unable to afford to adopt a family and would like to know of other ways to help.  Here are some options that can be used if you are unable to adopt a family on your own for the winter:

The first option is sharing a family with others who can’t afford to adopt a family by themselves.  I have been making groups of wonderful people who are sharing a single adoptive family for the winter.  It has been great fun to watch as  I put them in contact with each other and Viola! they are off and  shopping and packing!  This way the financial burden of helping a family is spread out among many and thus reducing the costs to the people that help.

Secondly, you can make a donation to our SPAN Alaska account.  Once donations build up in that account I will make an order and send it to Nunam.

Thirdly, you don’t have to adopt a family for the entire winter, if you can only send one box then just let me know and I can double/triple etc adopt that family out to many to keep the donations coming in.

Thank you for all of your help and understanding in helping bring aide to the families in Nunam Iqua.

One Response to “Adopt-A-Family Food Drive and Alternatives to help Nunam Iqua”

  1. Terria Fleming Says:

    Ann, I sent my first box off yesterday to my “adopted” family in Nunam Iqua. Hungry people should not go hungry if there is anything we can do about it, and thanks to you and your food drive, there is something we can do.
    I am always amazed at how much food can be crammed into a flat rate box. If sent by regular mail, instead of flat rate, the same box would have cost almost $30.00 to send the postman told me.

Comments are closed.