Fall Flood = Help needed in Nunam Iqua again this Winter!

by

Ice piled up during the Fall Flood at Nunam Iqua 11/11/09

Nov 26, 2009

I spent last night preparing food for Thanksgiving dinner and calling every household in Nunam Iqua.  Unfortunately I did not receive good news.  I was able to reach 23 out of the 36 household and out of those 23 families that I did talk to 22 were already struggling and requested help again with food to make it through the winter.

This is due to the fall flood in Nunam Iqua on November 11.  You can see from the pictures that this flooding wreaked havoc on the Yukon River ice.  The flooding brought in massive amounts of sea ice from the Bering Sea that unfortunately is still clogging the Yukon.  Several people lost their fishing nets they had set under the ice and a couple of families even lost their boats during the flood.

All of this sea ice still in the Yukon River at Nunam Iqua caused a hardship on the residents.  Normally during the winter families will go out onto the river and place fishing nets under the ice to catch fresh fish.  But due to the mess of sea ice currently in the Yukon this has become very difficult if not impossible to do now.   Fresh fish caught under the ice with nets is a large staple for families during the winter.

Not only did the ADF&G restrict commercial salmon fishing on the Lower Yukon, but also subsistence fishing was restricted to less than half of what is normally allowed.  These restrictions led to very poor subsistence fishing and lead to families not being able to put away the much needed dried and smoked salmon families depend on to make it through the winter.  Additionally due to the poor commercial fishing season a lot of families lost the majority if not all of their income that would normally be generated from commercial fishing.

Lack of dried and smoked salmon were put away during the summer due to the restrictions, plus families are not getting the fresh fish they rely on due to the flooding.  This is already causing a hardship on families in Nunam Iqua this winter.

You can see the ice on the Yukon piled up in the background

I need help with getting food to the needy families in Nunam Iqua.  Last winter I organized an adopt a family for the winter food drive.  I complied a list of every needy family in Nunam Iqua and their addresses, family size and needed items.  Then wonderful people from all over not only Alaska but the entire United States and Canada and around the world adopted these families and sent them flat rate boxes of much needed food and supplies directly to their post office boxes.

I have complied a list of the needy families in Nunam Iqua.   I am wintering in Ugashik this year, so I will not be able to accept and distribute food like I was able to last winter.  I will only be doing the adopt a family for the winter food drive this winter.

7 Responses to “Fall Flood = Help needed in Nunam Iqua again this Winter!”

  1. secret TalkerΔ Says:

    Thanks for letting us know about this opportunity to help ! I will print out this page and bring copies to my Thanksgiving Dinner with the hope that everyone there will contact you and avail themselves of the chance to do something worthwhile for our friends in Nunam Iqua.

    Have a meaningful and happy Thanksgiving Ann CC GG Vic Rollie Puppers & Savannah….and all the Anonymous Bloggers!

  2. GreatGranny2C Says:

    Will be back in touch with you in the next few days – friends and family are in from Texas and little free time for me for the moment. Yes…….we will adopt a family so get ready to match us up. And thank you for all that you and the AB’s do for so many others.

  3. secret TalkerΔ Says:

    I am sure that many anonymousbloggers have been busy with giving thanks and enjoying family;and now that you are reading this post you will want to help. I got a good response sharing a print out of this post at my family feast. I think it was worth it to share my relationship with ab with family and friends, who I do not see often. It is promising that some will adopt families…. I would like to encourage others to share Ann’s Post with friends and family, particularly at this season.
    I know that your family will be moved to help the families in NI and more! It would be wonderful to share the link to AB too! More readers, more comments, more caring and definitely more awareness about the issues confronting rural Alaska.

  4. nekolibrarian Says:

    I’m down in NW Florida; our own financial situation is not good, but I think we’re better off than most people in Nunam Iqua. I can’t afford to adopt a family on my own, but I’d like to help out as much as I can. Is there any way to get several people like me to team up to help a family?

  5. alaskapi Says:

    nekolibrarian-
    Ann is encouraging people who email her to team up if they feel comfortable about “meeting” each other via email as almost none of us can take on the responsibility of a family singlehanded.
    We are working on a page to link in sidebar with info … had forgotten how fast folks jump in to help!
    This is going to be different with Ann in Ugashik this winter…
    Figuring out how to make things work…
    Thank you for your interest and concern !

  6. Man_from_Unk Says:

    The limited opportunity to engage in an old cultural and traditional subsistence activity last summer is hurting the poor people of the Western Alaska Coastal region as another cold and dark winter approaches. High prices on food, fuel and transportation.

    The North Pacfic Fisheries Management Council is meeting next month in Anchorage. Send out your Anchorage relatives to testify on your and their behalf about the importance of the Salmon resource to the culture and self sustainability of the poor people of the region.

    Sustainability. Buzz word of the decade. Sustain the Salmon Resource and the people who depend on them.

  7. yellow rose Says:

    The caption on your second picture: “Ice in/on the Yukon” caused me to squint real hard trying to see the vehicle involved.
    Had a good chuckle when I realized my mistake. Hope you get a laugh as well, on me.

Comments are closed.


