Do a Mitzvah this Passover – help rural Alaskans!

by

By Secret Talker Δ

The first Seder of Passover will be on April 8 (Nissan14) this year. This ancient Jewish Holiday celebrates the Exodus from Egypt with a retelling of that story, special prayers, study and the doing of good deeds that are actually commandments, as well as the eating of matzah (unleavened bread).

Hospitality is a time-honored tradition and we open the door, lift the uncovered plate of matzah from our Seder table and say:

“Behold the MATZAH, bread of poverty, which our ancestors ate in the land of Egypt. Let all who are hungry come and eat; all who are needy, come and celebrate the Passover with us.”

This year in honor of Passover I will be sending flat rate boxes to all the villages we are helping. I encourage all who visit here to participate with me in doing this deed.

And I will also have a flat rate box at my Seder and invite friends and family to come with goods to fill it!!!

If you are making a Seder or have been invited to one, perhaps you can do as I am doing and include our Alaskan neighbors in your celebration. Invite guests to bring items to fill a flat rate box at your Seder and have extra boxes on hand for people to take home.

Then too, please share this appeal from anonymousbloggers with your friends, your congregations, blogs you visit and your e-mail buddies.

 

Hog  Samayoch ~ Happy Holiday Everyone!
Secret Talker  Δ

8 Responses to “Do a Mitzvah this Passover – help rural Alaskans!”

  1. Alaska Pi ∆ Says:

    Secret Talker ∆-

    Hospitality at the table and in our hearts is what unites all people across all divides -when we sit still long enough to hear the call to the table.

    What a wonderful way to bring ∆ -change- to a time honored celebration- carrying that which it was born of into the world we live in now.

  2. the problem child (an aunt, also) Says:

    Great idea!

  3. Secret TalkerΔ Says:

    Hee HEE My cousin in Palm Beach Gardens left a message”What can I bring ” to the Seder?~ ~ Look forward to telling her!

  4. walkaboutstory Says:

    what a great idea!

  5. basheert Says:

    I’m going to send your appeal to my daughter so she can hopefully get our grandchildren’s JDS involved. They are always looking for a mitzvah!

  6. anonymousbloggers Says:

    basheert –

    Thank you! Good deeds are something we should teach our children!!

    Sadly, there will never be a shortage…

  7. basheert Says:

    My beautiful grandkids are amazing – and always wanting to do a mitzvah (they used to have a mitvah jar but it went out of control).

    I have passed it on to my daughter – even if the JDS chooses to not do it, she can rally the moms!!! She’s an organizer from the get-go..

    You are doing a wonderful thing – I will be happy to help myself as well…

  8. anonymousbloggers Says:

    Many thanks!

Comments are closed.


